How To Eat A Cookie to the Glory of God

BV 1 Cor 10 31 eatWhat do you think about when you see milk and cookies?

After posting this picture of milk and cookies with the Bible verse about eating and drinking to the glory of God, friends commented that the cookies distracted them from their contemplation of the Bible verse. This got me thinking as to what that Bible verse means about doing everything, even eating a cookie, to the glory of God.  This verse addresses our thoughts and motivations for our actions.  So what should we think before we eat a cookie?

Before we eat too much or eat for the wrong reasons, gluttony thinks and says:

  • I deserve this cookie.
  • I’m bored/sad/excited so I’ll eat this cookie.
  • I want something to tickle my tastebuds (even though my stomach is full).
  • Just one more cookie.
  • I like cookies and I can have whatever I want whenever I want it.
  • I want to please the hostess who offered the cookie more than I want to please God.

Instead, we can glorify God while eating the cookie if we take our thoughts captive by saying to ourselves:

  • My stomach is not full and I’m thankful that God gave me this opportunity to have a cookie!
  • I know there will be dessert later, so I will eat a smaller meal now.
  • Thank You, God, for this celebration.  After talking and dancing, I’m hungry for this cookie.
  • Thank You, God, for creating chocolate.
  • For every bite I take, I will count my blessings, praise God’s attributes, or pray for someone else.

And here’s one more list of thoughts: How can we glorify God by NOT eating the cookie?

  • Thank You, God, that my stomach is full, so I won’t eat this cookie.
  • Someone else might need this cookie to fill his stomach.
  • Lord, I love You more than this cookie, so I will choose to delight in Your Word instead.
  • I will say NO to myself to practice self-control, which is a fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23).

BV 1 Cor 10 31 eat

So take another look at 1 Corinthians 10:31 with the picture of milk and cookies.  Isn’t God good to have created chocolate, and our tastebuds, and the variety of flavors?!

BV 1 Cor 10 31 clouds

I have also created a different design of 1 Corinthians 10:31.  What do you think about when you see these glory clouds?  I have more pretty pictures with Bible verses on the page with My Top 10 Favorite Bible Verses about Food and Eating.

May this verse, 1 Corinthians 10:31, encourage you to think before you eat, and motivate you to glorify God in everything you do!

Previously posted in August 2017 and 2018, so it’s time to think about it again!

Leave a comment