Let’s Walk!

How are you doing on the 30-day challenge to Count Your Carbs in May?  I hope you are motivated to endure to the end.  If you are keeping a food log, then you can evaluate how you are eating and where you need to make changes.  Now that I have controlled my portion sizes and have adjusted my attitude by meditating on wisdom from the Bible, I recognize that I need to exercise more.  So let’s formulate a plan to make exercise a regular habit.

Last week, we researched Bible verses to change our focus off of food and onto Jesus Christ.  Now you have some food for thought as you go through your day!  This week, let’s consider another important aspect of physical fitness and health: making exercise a daily ritual by planning when to exercise and what to do in order to achieve your desired result, whether it’s weight loss, flexibility, or greater energy for your life.

When getting started with an exercise plan, many people ask what is the best exercise they should do.  There are many choices and many people offering their opinion for what is best.  No matter how wonderful an exercise regime is, it will always be ineffective if you don’t stick to it.  The best exercise for you is the one that you will keep doing in the long run.  You need to find something that you know how to do, you have the time and space to do it, it makes you happy, and it meets your goals.

BV Acts 3 6-8 leap

My favorite exercise is walking.  I like to walk around my neighborhood, with my family if they’re available, sometimes chatting with neighbors.  I go out several times a day to take a break from sedentary activities.  Usually, I enjoy beautiful weather at all times of day.  For variety, I’ve taken walking to the next level of fitness by working out with Leslie Sansone’s Walk at Home program, and I highly recommend it.

If you would like to try Walk at Home for free, here are links to five free workouts on YouTube from Leslie Sansone:

  1. One Mile Happy Walk – a short 15-minute sample to get your started
  2. Walk At Home: Walk 15 – another great mile in Leslie’s great style
  3. 20 Minute Walk at Home – a little longer, a little stronger
  4. 5K with a Twist – 5K equals 3.1 miles
  5. Start! Walk at Home – a three mile walk to support the American Heart Association

By trying these free samples, you might discover that you like her program and want to invest in a few DVDs.  As an Amazon affiliate, here are six of my favorites DVDs that I recommend because you can build your own workouts from 1 to 5 miles, add toning sessions, enjoy the music and be inspired by the fun people Leslie includes in her videos.

      

      

One more thing to encourage you on your daily walk.  I have compiled a list of My Top 10 Favorite Bible Verses about Walking.  Click on THIS LINK and print this  one-page document onto cardstock, then cut the verses apart to make handy flashcards to take with you on-the-go.  You might read them while you walk, or even try to memorize them.

Is walking the best exercise for you?  Let me know in the Comments section below if you like to walk or want to try walking at home with Leslie Sansone.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Walk!

  1. Pingback: Final Count for May | Kristen Harper's 2GBG Books

  2. Pingback: Elephant in the Book Club | Kristen Harper's 2GBG Books

  3. Pingback: Ready? Set? Go for the Food Challenge! | Kristen Harper Books

  4. Pingback: Count Your Carbs in May | Kristen Harper Books

Leave a comment