Book Club Question 8

Let’s talk about food.  We should eat and enjoy food for its nutrition and flavor.

#8 – Food

  • What foods to you choose to meet nutritional goals?
  • What are some of your favorite foods?  Why do you like them?
  • How can you eat food while still pleasing God?  See 1 Corinthians 10:31.

When I think about nutrition, I compare it to putting fuel in my car.  My car needs gas, the right kind in the right amount.  Junk in the tank means my car won’t work.  My body needs fuel for energy, too.  My body’s fuel comes from food: protein, fat, starch, sugars, carbohydrates, calories, vitamins and minerals.  And don’t forget about hydrating with water, too.  My body needs the right kind of food in the right amount.  If I put in junk instead of fuel, my body won’t work right.

BV Genesis 1 29 apple

When I think about flavor, I’m thankful for God’s creative variety.  But in the same way my other senses can be deceived, my taste buds can be deceptive, too.  Remember things you thought you didn’t like as a kid, but now you like to eat them?  And just because you prefer a flavor doesn’t mean that’s the right fuel your body needs at the moment.

I have written several other articles about food you might be interested in.  Check out How To Eat A Cookie to the Glory of GodWhat is a Food Tightwad? (part 1) and What is a Food Tightwad? (part 2)5 Daily Rituals for Eating Less and 5 Weekly Rituals for Eating Less.

Now I would like to hear from you.  Please comment below to answer the Book Club Discussion Question #8 about food.  Thanks for participating in the Book Club for my Christian fiction novel, “Elephant in the Room.”

Leave a Reply

