Another Goal Accomplished!

Today I hit a milestone – I finished the first edit of my second book!  I’m pleased to have gotten this far, but know I have a long way to go.

For those of you who have been following this blog all year, you know that I have written one Christian fiction novel, Elephant in the Room, that has been recently published by Dove Christian Publishers.  I was optimistic when I began this website, naming it Kristen Harper Books, in hopes that there would be multiple books to share with you.  But the second book is nowhere near being ready for public consumption.

Following the steps of my first book, this afternoon I will be going to Office Depot to print one copy of my manuscript to share with my husband and daughters.  They will offer me guidance whether to spend more time and effort to shape it into a book.  We will also laugh at some of the typos and funny mistakes, but hopefully we’ll catch all of those before anyone else sees them.  If I move ahead, then I will ask several friends for editing assistance.  After a few more rounds of editing, I will probably submit it to publishers and agents for representation.  Then, the editing process would start again with the professionals.

Timing is everything.  I wrote the second book last November, and promptly set it aside to focus on the publication and publicity of Elephant in the Room.  This summer I picked it up and attempted to edit it in July, but needed more time, so it had to wait until September.  Now that I’ve reached this point with the second book, my plan is to start researching and planning for my third book, which I will attempt to write in the month of November, as a proud member of NaNoWriMo, the free online writing club.

Would you like a few hints about my second Christian fiction novel?  The working title is, “Always A Bridesmaid,” and it is an epic of 60,000 words spanning 15 years in the life of Joanna Everly, who serves as a bridesmaid in 30 weddings, always bringing her bridesmaid kit full of supplies to help the wedding day run smoothly.  When her life is transformed by the saving gospel of Christ, Joanna grows into a woman after God’s own heart who is appreciated by her students, her family and her friends.

The theme Bible verse for the book is Romans 12:1-2:  “Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.  And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

KH_bridesmaids

I will keep you posted on my progress.  What about you?  What goal have you accomplished recently?  Post it here to tell the world and thank God for His provision and help!

Leave a Reply

