What I Did This Summer

Did you ever have to write an essay about your summer activities when you went back to school each Fall?  As we return to the routine of school around our house, I was thinking about what I accomplished, and what things I dropped, this summer.  Rather than an essay, here’s my short list:

What I did:

ss-hands-up

  • taught Sunday School and studied the Bible
  • published a Bible study online (SundaySchoolTeacherBibleStudy.wordpress.com)
  • went swimming several times at a friend’s house in my modest bathing suit
  • prepared my first book for publishing and learned about marketing
  • visited my parents for a week
  • edited my second book
  • got a doctor’s check-up
  • took a train ride up the California coast with my husband

What I didn’t do:

  • blog regularly
  • exercise regularly
  • get my eyes examined (I need new contacts)
  • hang out with friends enough

I’m thankful for the opportunities I had to serve, get some work done, and enjoy adventures with friends and family.   My list of what I didn’t do will be the start of things to do this Fall.  I’ve already set a schedule to write regularly each week for my blog.  Since my homeschooled daughters will exercise regularly for PE, I will be motivated to join them.  And my daughter Rachel has already scheduled several families to come over for dinner (and she’s cooking!)

Now, I’d better go call the optometrist to make an appointment to get my eyes examined!  Here’s a link to an interesting article by Tim Challies about taking care of your eyes.  Maybe you should make an appointment, too.  Let me know if you do!

2 thoughts on “What I Did This Summer

  1. Sounds like you did a lot of good things! That is an interesting article by Tim Challies – not the kind of thing he normally posts, but a good reminder. And I did have an eye appointment this summer! (But not my dr checkup.) 😉

    Like

  2. I’m wearing my new contact lenses with a better prescription for the first time today. I’m so thankful that I can see noticeably better! I need reading glasses now, too, but I’m willing to wear them in order to see better when I read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

