I Could Use Some Oxygen

For the two years that I taught Physical Education classes for our homeschool group, I hardly suffered a cold.  I was exercising five days a week and participating in a variety of fitness activities, and I felt great!  But after six months of a more sedentary lifestyle, my old affliction of bronchitis debilitated me for three weeks.  I know that there were plenty of germs floating around this season, but why did it hit me so hard this year?  I think the lack of recent aerobic conditioning had something to do with it.

Aerobics, or aerobic exercises, are defined as “any of various sustained exercises… that stimulate and strengthen the heart and lungs, thereby improving the body’s utilization of oxygen.”  I recognize that my daily “stroll through the shrubbery,” as I call my walks through the neighborhood, are not really aerobic because they are too short and gentle.  They probably fall into the NEAT category of fitness activities.  However, I have found something aerobic that I like to do, Leslie Sansone’s Walk at Home exercise videos.  When I am restored to good health, I will renew my efforts to get regular aerobic exercise because it will help strengthen my heart and lungs.  Sometime it takes a trial to motivate us to do the right thing.

On the positive side, here is a motivating Bible verse, comparing bodily discipline which is of some profit to spiritual discipline which leads to godliness:

“Do you not know that those who run in a race all run,

but only one receives the prize?

Run in such a way that you may win.

Everyone who competes in the games

exercises self-control in all things.

They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.

Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim;

I box in such a way, as not beating the air;

but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that,

after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified.”

– 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

 

I am thankful to God for the time to pray and meditate while being under the weather. I am also thankful for my family and friends who have served me with kindness. Finally, here are three thoughts about breathing.

  1. I thank God for giving me life and breath. (Genesis 2:7; Job 33:4; Isaiah 42:5; Acts 17:25)
  2. When I finally do stop breathing, I will die and spend eternal life with my Lord and Savior in perfect peace. (Genesis 25:8; 1 Kings 17:17; 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18; Revelation 21 and 22) If you don’t have this confidence, please read about the hope found in Christ.
  3. While I have breath, I will praise the Lord! (Psalm 150:6)

breath

Psalm 150:6 – Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord!

The best exercise is the one that you like doing because then you will actually do it.  What do you recommend for aerobic exercises?

Leave a Reply

