Why Facebook is Not for Me

With my first book being published in Spring 2017, I have been quickly learning the ropes of book publicity.  With guidance from Michael Hyatt in his book, Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World, I understand the importance of social media in the current consumer climate.  It has been a challenge and an exciting opportunity to launch this website, which I created for free through WordPress.com.

But I have come to realize that joining Facebook (or the other social media options) is not a wise decision for me right now for three reasons:

  • Time – I want to be careful about how I spend my time, with priority going to God, my family, friends and local church ministry.  Writing, editing and marketing, while good opportunities, only get limited time and attention.  “Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil.” – Ephesians 5:15-16
  • Gossip – This is an area of temptation for me that I have been mortifying for years.  As an older woman, I desire to protect my heart from listening to gossip and my mouth from speaking about others.  Titus 2:3-5 says that, “Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored.”
  • Pride – I am prideful because of my sinful human nature.  While building this website, I have been weighing the balance between promoting my book to encourage others and building up myself, so you might notice the 2GBG logo that reminds me of my goal to glorify God, not myself, in my endeavors.  I want to proclaim like the multitude of heavenly host in Luke 2:14, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among men with whom He is pleased.”

social

So for now, I will not be signing on to Facebook.  I appreciate those of you who use social media and make connections on my behalf.  How do you keep a balance with your time and words on social media?  Do you need to pull back because you struggle with these issues, too?  Please let me know how I can encourage you.

One thought on “Why Facebook is Not for Me

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my website! | Kristen Harper's 2GBG Books and Bible Studies

Leave a Reply

